Audit Logs
Auditing information is stored in audit logs on the computer that hosts the Laserfiche Server. These logs are then used when audit reports are run. You can configure how your audit logs are stored.
Note: This documentation includes instructions for volume operations in both the Repository Web Client and the Repository Desktop Administration Console. However, please note that the Repository Desktop Administration Console has been deprecated and we advise using the Repository Web Client instead. See Deprecated Modules and Features for more information.
Configuring Audit Log Settings
To configure path and rollover settings for audit logging in the Web Client
-
As a user with the Manage Audit Settings privilege, sign in to the Repository Web Client. Select your user name in the upper right corner and select Repository Administration, then select the Auditing tab.
- On the Log Generation tab, configure the following settings:
- Audit log path: The path at which the current audit log is located.
- Rollover log file when it reaches a maximum size:: The size limit in megabytes at which a new log file should be created
- Rollover log file when it reaches a maximum age: The number of days after which at which a new log file should be created
- Automatically compress rolled-over audit logs: Whether audit logs should be compressed.:
- Rollover directory: Determines where the next log to be created via rollover will be stored.
- Select Save to save your changes.
To configure path and rollover settings for audit logging in the Desktop Administration Console
- As a user with the Manage Audit Settings privilege, sign in to the Repository Desktop Administration Console.
- Select the Auditing node and then select the Settings node.
- In the Action menu, select Properties.The Auditing Properties dialog box will open.
- On the General tab, configure the following settings:
- Audit log path: The path at which the current audit log is located.
- Rollover log file when it reaches a maximum size:: The size limit in megabytes at which a new log file should be created
- Rollover log file when it reaches a maximum age: The number of days after which at which a new log file should be created
- Automatically compress rolled-over audit logs: Whether audit logs should be compressed.:
- Rollover directory: Determines where the next log to be created via rollover will be stored.
- Select Save to save your changes.
Managing Rollover Logs
To download audit logs in the Web Client
-
As a user with the Manage Audit Settings privilege, sign in to the Repository Web Client. Select your user name in the upper right corner and select Repository Administration, then select the Auditing tab.
- On the Rollover Logs tab, select the logs you want to export.
- Select the Download button. Your logs will immediately be downloaded to the Downloads folder on your local computer.
To download audit logs in the Repository Desktop Client
- As a user with the Manage Audit Settings privilege, sign in to the Repository Desktop Administration Console.
- Select the Auditing node and then select the Rollover Logs node. A list of audit logs will be displayed.
- Select the logs you want to export.
- In the Action menu, select Retrieve rollover logs.
- Select OK to download the audit logs.
To immediately perform rollover and create a new audit log in the Web Client
-
As a user with the Manage Audit Settings privilege, sign in to the Repository Web Client. Select your user name in the upper right corner and select Repository Administration, then select the Auditing tab.
- On the Rollover Log tag, press the Perform Rollover button. A new audit log will be created immediately.
To immediately perform rollover and create a new audit log in the Desktop Repository Console
- As a user with the Manage Audit Settings privilege, sign in to the Repository Desktop Administration Console.
- Select the Auditing node and then select the Rollover Logs node. A list of audit logs will be displayed.
- In the Action menu, select Perform Rollover. A new audit log will be created immediately.
To delete audit logs in the Web Client
-
As a user with the Manage Audit Settings privilege, sign in to the Repository Web Client. Select your user name in the upper right corner and select Repository Administration, then select the Auditing tab.
- On the Rollover Logs tab, select the logs you want to delete.
- Select the Delete button. The selected
To delete audit logs in the Desktop Administration Console
- As a user with the Manage Audit Settings privilege, sign in to the Repository Desktop Administration Console.
- Select the Auditing node and then select the Rollover Logs node. A list of audit logs will be displayed.
- Select the logs you want to delete.
- In the Action menu, select Delete.